OUI Defense in Massachusetts
Ever since 2005 where Melanie’s Law was put into action there has been a very strict emphasis on sentencing people charged with OUI’s. With an experienced attorney who knows the field well they can help you get your charge or sentence reduced. Sometimes by taking a state approved class focused on alcohol education can reduce your charge only for the first offence.
Massachusetts considers all first and second OUI offenses misdemeanors.
If you are convicted for the first time you could face up to 2 ½ years in jail, lose your license for a year and, have to pay between $500 to $5,000. If you have a child with you at the time you will also most likely face a child endangerment charge if the adolescent was 14 years of age or younger.
If you are arrested twice you will face $600 to $10,000 in fines, 30 to 2 ½ years in jail, and lose your license for 2 years.
A third arrest results with you losing your license for 8 years, $1,000 to $15,000 in fines, and 150 days to 2 ½ years in jail. At this point they might also order you to pay for an interlocking device that gets installed in your car. It is essentially a breathalyzer you have to use in order to start your car and it will not start if it detects alcohol.
As the convictions go on the fines and jail time go up and the loss of license increases significantly and with a 3rd, 4th, or 5th OUI it is considered a felony offence.
In Massachusetts if you refuse to take a chemical test you will receive a fine and automatic loss of license. For your first offence with the refusal of the test its 180 days without a license, 2nd offence is 3 years, and 3rd offence is 5 years.